Rushmere St Andrew Parish Council


Rushmere St Andrew Parish Council consists of 15 Councillors, elected by parishioners on a four-yearly basis. The Councillors represent the residents of the parish and are committed to looking after the needs of the parish along with ensuring the parish is a nice place to live.

At the May 2015 Parish Council elections, the Parish was divided into two electoral wards; Village Ward north of the A1214 [Woodbridge Road] with three Councillors and Tower Ward south of the A1214 with 12 councillors.

Members of the public are welcome to attend any of the 30+ Council and Executive Committee meetings held each year. Part of each meeting is devoted to a public forum, with an opportunity for parishioners to bring matters to the attention of the Parish Council and for parishioners to seek guidance from the Council.

There are two remunerated officers, the Clerk and Assistant Clerk who ably carry out the administrative processes on behalf of the Council whilst Councillors give their time and goodwill in serving the community on a purely voluntary basis.

Sometimes Councillors receive excessive criticism if things are not as everybody would like, but we would ask you to remember that Councillors often run with the majority of opinion tempered by their knowledge of local government rules and legislation.